![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|
|||||||
| News and Events News and Events for the Main Site |
| |
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
||||
|
Turbosquid Copyright Policy
This could be considered off topic but I thought Id shine some light on to this problem over at Turbosquid. Now most of you are modelers who model for your own use in renders, but a few of you are game modelers so this could pertain to you. But please be aware of thief’s who can take models you have uploaded for free and sell them on Turbosquid.
The case I'm talking about involves game cars. The community of NFSCars has experienced a very bad thief who downloaded freely available models and is now selling them for 50 to 80 dollars a piece. I warn you about using Turbosquid because there policy is very warped. I have many friends in the NFS community and the ones who sent emails to Turbosquid have yet to be acknowledged or get a reply. The thief continues to sell the cars. There are many cars that even belong to Electronic Arts from various NFS games. Now Turbosquid only works if you can sell something, but the fact remains that theft has occurred and Turbosquid has yet to do anything. This is what can happen when thieves take free 3d files and upload them as there own 3D Search Last edited by Icekid84 : 05-19-2007 at 02:13 AM. |
|
|||
|
dam...
I’m not likening people who do this. Why don’t they just buy a copy of zmod and the game, and have all of them ready for personal use? (I’m not sating that’s right either.) But people will be assholes. |
|
||||
|
It´s an ugly thing!
I´m modeling several years now and thought about signing my models ,but find no safe and easy way. Best will be, to sign every part of the model by modeling your name into the meshes.That means a lot of work and a higher polycount! -Only theory-... keep on modeling!! Frank |
|
||||
|
I use Turbosquid quite alot, and it does have alot of flaws.... there general policy is that if the original artist doesnt contact them, then they wont take it down... which sucks.... so I can well imagine they are ignoring emails to do with the subject, even if it is the original artist.
If you could give me a link to the thief on turbosquid, and a link to where the models have been taken from, I'll post it up in the artist forum on TS and try and get the attention of someone on there.... anything to help. ![]() ![]() 2nd Place in the SMCars "WZA" contest ---- www.gvgraphics.co.uk ---- www.myspace.com/greenvampire ---- ---- SDMF ---- BLS UK Chapter ---- |
|
||||
|
I have an turbosquid account too .There is one more type of stealer there.My mate experienced it .There was a model he made and sold at $20 dollars.....One guy bought it and tataaaa guess what ? The next week that some guy/same guy was selling the exact same model with exact renders at higher price....Oh well turbosquid sucks by many ways.Aint there any else ways we can sell our models legally on our own site and such ???
|
|
||||
|
good thing i read this, and the nfscars post just so i can get on it pretty quick... the countach (x3) that that guy has availiable has been onsale since the start of 2004 on my account.
my general way of knowing is i have specific errors (ie extra vents, or something small in the design that i know about in the meshes, that generally get missed by people so it helps when i need to find out if a car is mine pretty quick... it kinda works too, plus sticking any publicly availiable models on TS means its easier to prove the orginal source. lol, most of my stuff on TS is **** and really old. I just dont bother anymore with that site. |
|
||||
|
Well some good news all, it seems some progress has been made on this issue. I'm sure there are many other like this happening that are unknown to me or anyone else yet but for now this one has been nicked. 28 files remaining. Personally I think that his account should have be terminated and his IP banned from Turbosquid since there were definitly more than one case going on there.
|
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM. |